The Witch Finder’s Sister Talk – Beth Underdown

Wednesday 30th May, 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm.

The Witch Finder's Sister Talk - Beth Underdown

Join author Beth Underdown for a reading and talk on her award-winning book “The Witch Finder’s Sister” in the Tithe Barn at the 1620s House & Garden…itself home to a number of witch marks designed to keep the witches out!

Biography:

Beth Underdown was born in Rochdale in 1987. She studied at the University of York and then the University of Manchester, where she is now a Lecturer in Creative Writing.

The Witch Finder’s Sister is her debut novel, and is based on the life of the 1640s witch finder Matthew Hopkins. She first came across him while reading a book about seventeenth-century midwifery. As you do.

Reviews:

‘A compelling debut from a gifted storyteller’ (Sarah Perry author of The Essex Serpent)

THE MOST THRILLING HISTORICAL DEBUT OF 2018
Based on the true story of the infamous witchfinder Matthew Hopkins, with one of the most memorable heroines in recent historical fiction, this haunting novel is perfect for fans of The Miniaturist, Sarah Waters and The Essex Serpent.

Tickets: £6.00

Pre- booking recommended as places are limited – call 01455 290429 (Open 7 days a week 10.00 am to 5.00 pm) or in person from the Ticket Office at The 1620s House & Garden when the site is open (Thursday to Sunday & Bank Holidays 10.30 am to 4.30 pm)

  • Leicester County Council
  • The National Forest
  • Accredited Museum
  • Enjoy England
  • Tripadvisor
  • LPL Awards Highly Commended 2017
  • Food Hygiene